SOC News

May 31, 2019

Brenda Major has been awarded the International Society for Self and Identity Distinguished Lifetime Career Award for 2020. This prestigious award recognizes a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to our understanding of self and identity throughout their career. This award is made on the basis of the originality, quality, and impact of a scholar's body of research in self and identity.

Emily La
May 15, 2019

Congratulations to Emily La, a junior Psychological & Brain Sciences and Environmental Studies double major, who was chosen as the second-place winner of the Library Award for Undergraduate Research in the Social Sciences category. She will receive a $500 award for her paper: "Understanding Psychological Buffers to Health Adversities Within Sustainable Communities.” Emily is a research assistant in the Sherman Lab working with Professor David Sherman and PhD student Michelle Shteyn on sustainability.

June 20, 2018

Payton Small was awarded the Fiona and Michael Goodchild Graduate Mentoring Award, which recognizes graduate students who have distinguished themselves as mentors of undergraduates. Graduate students in the College of Engineering; Mathematical, Life, and Physical Sciences Division of the College of Letters and Science; and the Bren School of Environmental Science and Management are eligible.

June 07, 2018

Social Psychology doctoral students Kimin Eom and Phillip Ehret were both awarded the 2018 Charles McClintock Award. The McCintock Award is given to a senior graduate student for excellence in scholarship, education, and service.

June 01, 2018

Through both her service and groundbreaking research, Dr. Major is, without exaggeration, a giant contributor to social and personality psychology. A past president of SPSP and also SESP, Dr. Major's research on stigma and resilience has garnered numerous awards and left an indelible impact on other scientists and society. Watch her interview to hear about Dr. Major's storied career on the road less traveled.

April 18, 2018

Tessa Dover, 2017 alum and Assistant Professor at Portland State, is featured in the May issue of INSIGHT into Diversity: Read more about her work here:

Related Links
April 18, 2018

Zoe Liberman and Dan Conroy-Beam were named APS Rising Stars by the Association for Psychological Science.

Related Links
April 09, 2018

Phil Ehret, 6th year PhD student in social psychology, has won APA Division 34's (Population and conservation psychology) Graduate Student Award for the best graduate student led paper.

Ehret, P. J., Van Boven, L., & Sherman, D. K. (In press). Partisan barriers to bipartisanship: Understanding climate policy polarization. Social Psychological and Personality Science.

Phil will be recognized for this award at the 2018 APA Annual Convention in San Francisco, CA.