News 2017

Andrea Shannon Mora
July 05, 2017

Members of the graduating class of 2017 celebrated at a departmental reception. Congrats to all our PBS grads!

June 29, 2017

PBS Professor Mary Hegarty was awarded the Raymond Nickerson prize for the best paper in Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied for 2016. Graduate students Alex Boone and Trevor Barrett were co-authors on the paper.

Hegarty, M., Friedman, A., Boone, A. P., & Barrett, T. J. (2016). Where are you? The effect of uncertainty and its visual representation on location judgments in GPS-like displays. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied, 22(4), 381-392.

Related Links
June 22, 2017

The Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences congratulates all of our PhD graduates! The following graduates participated in the Graduate Division ceremony on June 18, 2017 (from left): Will Ryan (holding honorary graduate Gordie); Kaziya Lee; Amanda Kautzman; Christina Shin; Jared Bagley; Lauren Winczewski; Kyle Ploense; Jessica LeClair; Adar Eisenbruch; Janet Pauketat; and Jeff Bowen.

June 21, 2017

Your doctor is an expert with many years of experience. So when she tells you, upon reviewing all the fancy tomographic imaging you had done, that the tenderness in your breast is just some minor irritation, you want to believe her and leave it at that.

But is she right?

Related Links
June 05, 2017

The fields of science and engineering are dominated by men. So, there’s an effort across the nation to encourage young women to become scientists and engineers. Some girls on the South Coast are learning about those fields in an unusual way.

Related Links
June 02, 2017
UCSB ranks among the top five colleges and universities in the country based on economic diversity, affordability and financial assistance.
Related Links
May 09, 2017

Marcus Vicari (Biopsychology Major, Class of 2017) is the recipient of the prestigious College of Letters and Science Frances Colville and Terry Dearborn Memorial Award. The award recognizes outstanding scholarship and contributions to the campus community by a graduating senior with a major in the Division of Mathematics, Life & Physical Sciences. It is given in memory of Frances M. Colville, Associate Professor of Physical Education (1955-1964) and Terry H. Dearborn, Associate Professor of Physical Education (1940-1964). Congratulations, Marcus!

May 09, 2017

Humans have multiple learning systems, all functionally and anatomically distinct from one another. UC Santa Barbara mathematical psychologist Gregory Ashby has devoted his career to identifying and exploring them, and his work has paid off.

For his breadth of research and for his more recent advances in neuroscience, Ashby has been awarded the 2017 Howard Crosby Warren Medal by the Society of Experimental Psychologists (SEP).

Related Links
May 05, 2017

Professor Richard Mayer has been chosen by the Association for Psychological Science (APS) to receive the 2018 James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award. The highest honor conferred by the APS, the Cattell Award recognizes distinguished APS members for a lifetime of outstanding contributions to applied psychological research.

Related Links
March 06, 2017

In recognition of Greg Ashby's "innovative and foundational theoretical and empirical work linking mind and brain in computational and mathematical models of learning and categorization” the Society of Experimental Psychologists awards Professor Greg Ashby the 2017 Howard Crosby Warren Medal.

The Warren Medal is the oldest award in psychology. Past winners include such luminaries as Karl Lashley, B.F. Skinner, Clark Hull, James Gibson, Harry Harlow, Donald Hebb, William Estes, Roger Sperry, Roger Shepard, and Daniel Kahneman (among others).